Free Consultation! Call: (609) 261-3400 | Email: | Emergencies: Click Here

How A Burlington County Theft Lawyer Can Help Your Case

Mark Catanzaro, your go-to Burlington County theft lawyer.

Many of us don’t think of theft as a major criminal charge, but theft can indeed lead to time behind bars. Even crimes described as petty theft, like stealing a t-shirt, can leave you with permanent criminal charges.

So if you’ve been accused of theft, don’t take it lightly. Instead, take action by calling Mark Catanzaro, your go-to Burlington County theft lawyer, and partnering with him to take care of your case.

A Burlington County Theft Attorney Who Can Help

To an outsider, the legal system can be extremely confusing. Maybe you don’t even understand what your charges mean, or the implications of your situation in the long term. This is exactly why a professional Bucks County theft attorney is an important partner. An experienced legal specialist can explain your case in terms you’ll understand, defend you in court proceedings, and take advantage of every right allotted to you.

Theft is defined as the unlawful taking or exercising of control over someone else’s property. Nevertheless, in New Jersey, the definition of theft breaks down into several more specific charges with particular meanings. A theft charge could take the form of any of the following:

  • theft by extortion
  • theft by deception
  • theft of services
  • theft of stolen property
  • theft of lost property or even property that’s been delivered by mistake
  • shoplifting
  • concealment of library material

In addition to this variety of charges, the penalties vary significantly, mostly dependent upon the value of the property that’s in question. These are all potential penalties of a theft conviction based upon the value of the stolen items:

– Less than $200: This is a disorderly persons offense and could include up to 6 months in jail.
– Between $200 and $500: The charge for theft of this amount is a 4th degree crime, which means jail time could be up to 18 months
– Between $500 and $75,000: This is a 3rd degree crime and means up to 5 years in prison.
– Over $75,000: The charge here is a 2nd degree crime. It means you could face up to 10 years in prison.

Contact A Burlington County Theft Attorney You Can Trust

If you’re facing theft charges, it’s very much to your advantage to partner with an experienced theft attorney. Mark Catanzaro has been representing clients for nearly 30 years, with an established reputation for trustworthiness and competence. He’ll help you understand your case, answer all of your questions, and represent you with deep understanding of the law. Don’t hesitate to contact him at (609) 261-3406 or fill out a contact form to start to the process of securing legal representation for theft charges in Burlington County.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Request Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Office Locations

Mount Holly:

21 Grant St.
Mt. Holly, New Jersey


143 White Horse Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey