It seems pretty simple: Don’t drink and drive. But many times, what someone thinks is “only a few drinks” is enough to get them pulled over and issued a ticket for Driving Under the Influence (DUI). A first time DUI carries with it harsh enough penalties, but subsequent offenses are even worse. If you find yourself in this situation, you need to contact Mount Holly DUI lawyer Mark Catanzaro right away so he can start working on your case.
The Consequences of a Subsequent DUI
Courts follows the mandatory New Jersey guidelines when sentencing a defendant for his or her subsequent DUI offense. A judge may consider certain circumstances when determining a sentence, but there are statutory minimums that must be applied.
For a second DUI conviction, the penalties include:
- 2 years’ suspended license
- $500-$1,000 fine
- 30 days’ community service
- 2-90 days’ incarceration
- Higher insurance rates
- $100 DUI enforcement surcharge
- Ignition Interlock device installation 1-3 years after restoration of driving privileges
- 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
You may think these consequences are tough, but it gets worse. If you’re convicted of driving under the influence for a second time while in a New Jersey school zone, there is no time to waste before retaining your Mount Holly DUI lawyer. This charge, which is the result of driving within 1,000 feet of a school zone, is not light on the punishment. While you may not have known you were driving within or a school zone, this information is irrelevant in the eyes of the law. Similarly, it is not a defense that there were no juveniles present on school property at the time of the offense. Such a conviction carries the following consequences:
- $1,000-$2,000 in fines
- 60 days’ community service
- At least 4-180 days’ incarceration (cannot be suspended or served on probation)
- 4 years’ suspended license
- At this point, you can imagine that a third DUI carries even more severe penalties.
Need a Mount Holly DUI Lawyer?
Mark Catanzaro is the Mount Holly DUI lawyer you can count on to secure favorable results. In his nearly 30 years’ experience, he has successfully fought for the dismissal or reduction of DUI charges for New Jersey residents. Mark Catanzaro will look at your record to determine whether your first DUI was more than ten years ago. If so, he will argue that the current DUI charge should not count as the second, according to New Jersey’s ten year step down rule, established in 2008. This rule is not automatic and only considered when requested. There are many other considerations that your DUI Lawyer in Mount Holly will argue to fight your charges.
If you’re facing a subsequent DUI charge, contact Mark Catanzaro today!