Free Consultation! Call: (609) 261-3400 | Email: | Emergencies: Click Here

Need A Domestic Violence Defense Attorney in Mercer County?

Mercer County domestic violence defense attorney

Being charged with domestic violence is a serious offense that could follow you for the rest of your life. If you’ve been charged with this, it is vital to secure an experienced domestic violence defense attorney in Mercer County as soon as possible to protect your rights.

Usually, the first step is the accuser filing for a temporary restraining order. If it is granted, you have ten days before there is a hearing, after which the judge will decide whether it becomes permanent and determine the conditions. That is why it is extremely important to retain an attorney like Mark Catanzaro, who has been defending individuals for nearly 30 years, to represent you in such a sensitive matter.

What Exactly Is Domestic Violence?

Domestic Violence is a general term that can be used to describe certain behaviors that are deemed threatening in nature, such as:

  • Assault or Sexual Assault
  • Kidnapping
  • Lewdness
  • Criminal Trespass
  • Stalking

The alleged act must have been taken against an individual that the law seeks to protect in these situations. To be considered domestic violence in New Jersey, the accuser must be:

  • A current or former spouse 18 years or older (or emancipated minor)
  • A current or former household member 18 years or older (or emancipated minor)
  • Someone with whom the accused is or was in a dating relationship
  • Someone with whom the accused is expecting a child or has a child, regardless of age

Depending on the underlying offense, a domestic violence charge could be a misdemeanor or a felony. Factors such as prior offenses and history of domestic violence will be considered in determining sentencing. A restraining order may also be granted.

If a domestic violence restraining order is granted, and the accused violates that restraining order, he or she is guilty of criminal contempt, which is a crime in the fourth degree. This type of offense may carry consequences including a $10,000 fine and up to 18 months of prison time. A second offense will result in a minimum of 30 months of prison time.

Seek Help From a Mercer County Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Now!

Because a conviction of domestic violence may result in severe penalties, including limitations on your freedom, you need to speak with a domestic violence defense attorney in Mercer County as soon as possible. Mark Catanzaro will guide you through the process and listen to your description of the incident. Your case will be kept completely confidential. Contact Mark Catanzaro now – the Mercer County domestic violence defense attorney you can trust!


Leave a Comment

Request Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Office Locations

Mount Holly:

21 Grant St.
Mt. Holly, New Jersey


143 White Horse Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey