Leaving the scene of an accident is never in your best interest. This is most commonly referred to as a “hit and run,” and has serious consequences in New Jersey. A driver is required to stop and report any sort of motor vehicle accident that they are involved in, even if there were no injuries. If you’ve been charged with this crime, it is important to retain an experienced Trenton Hit and Run attorney.
What Must You Do After You’re Involved in an Accident?
People leave the scene of an accident for many reasons. Common reasons include not having adequate auto insurance coverage, being intoxicated, or just thinking that it wasn’t necessary to stop because it wasn’t that bad.
What if it wasn’t even you who left the scene of an accident? If someone borrowed your car and fled the scene, you could be the one charged after your license plate is tracked down.
A knowledgeable Trenton hit and run attorney will start off by explaining what New Jersey legally deems a Hit and Run:
- When a driver is knowingly involved in an accident that causes death or injury and fails to stop.
- When a driver is knowingly involved in an accident that causes damage to either vehicle or other property and fails to stop.
- When a driver is knowingly involved in an accident that causes damage to an unattended vehicle or other property and fails to stop.
For the first two situations, the driver is required to find a safe spot to pull over and exchange information with the other driver and report the accident to police. They’re also required to render reasonable assistance to an injured party, including taking them to the hospital if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or requested by the injured person.
In the last instance, the driver must notify the owner of the property, or if the owner cannot be located, they must leave a note in a visible spot containing their name and address, and notify police.
A conviction for a hit and run can mean 30 to 180 days in jail; $200 to $5,000 in fines; and a 6- to 12-month suspension of driving privileges, depending on the severity of the situation.
Call a Trenton Hit and Run Attorney For Your Case
Mark Catanzaro, a top rated hit and run attorney in Trenton, has nearly 30 years of experience defending clients in similar cases. He will consult with you about the incident and review the relevant files in order to build the best defense for your case. Call today to schedule a free consultation.