Free Consultation! Call: (609) 261-3400 | Email: | Emergencies: Click Here

Shoplifting in New Jersey:  What You Need to Know

Have you been charged with shoplifting? If you’ve been charged with shoplifting in New Jersey, you could face serious fines, and even jail time! But with strong legal representation, you can get a dismissal or a reduction of the charges. Here’s a quick post about shoplifting, New Jersey law, and what you can do about it.

What is shoplifting?

As with all laws, they contain legal jargon and precise definitions that describe offenses. So, New Jersey state law defines shoplifting in very specific ways. Here are the six ways the law defines shoplifting in New Jersey:

  • Carrying away merchandise from a store with the intention of depriving the merchant
  • Purposeful concealment of an item(s) with the intention of depriving the merchant
  • Altering or changing price tags on items
  • Transferring merchandise from one container to another with the intention of depriving the merchant of the full price
  • Under ringing merchandise
  • Removing a shopping cart from the premises

As you can see, shoplifting in New Jersey involves more than simply stealing something. It involves any attempt to get merchandise for less than it is being sold. However, intent must be proven. That’s where an experienced defense attorney can help you.

What can happen?

According to New Jersey law, there are four degrees of shoplifting. Here’s a helpful chart showing each degree, and the consequences for it.

Degree Definition Consequences
Disorderly persons Value of merchandise <$200 Up to six months in jail

Fine up to $1000

4th degree Value of merchandise between $200 – $500 Up to 18 months in jail

Fine up to $10,000

3rd degree Value of merchandise between $500 – $75,000 Up to five years in jail

Fine up to $15,000

2nd degree Value of merchandise >$75,000 Up to 10 years in jail

Fine up to $150,000


What can I do about it?

As mentioned above, intent to shoplift must be proven. Furthermore, a storekeeper needs probable cause in order to detain you, but they have no right to forcibly search you. A knowledgeable defense attorney knows how to use this information to your advantage. If you’ve been accused of shoplifting, you need such an attorney on your case. Who should you call?

Charged with Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Contact the Law Offices of Mark Catanzaro today! With over 30 years of experience, Mark Catanzaro can competently defend your case. You won’t go it alone with him by your side. Reach out today!


Leave a Comment

Request Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Office Locations

Mount Holly:

21 Grant St.
Mt. Holly, New Jersey


143 White Horse Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey