Free Consultation! Call: (609) 261-3400 | Email: | Emergencies: Click Here

Manslaughter Laws in New Jersey

manslaughter laws in new jersey

A few weeks ago we covered Degrees of Murder. In addition to defining the differences between 1st degree and 2nd degree murder, we also mentioned manslaughter. However, a short little paragraph in one blog won’t do it justice. A manslaughter charge can get complicated since it involves proving that the crime committed was accidental rather than intentional. So, in this week’s blog, we’ll hope to begin to unravel some of the confusion. That’s why today we’ll be reviewing manslaughter laws in New Jersey.

Basic Manslaughter Laws in New Jersey

First, let’s review some of the basics. How does the law define the concept? A few things come into play:

  • Someone commits manslaughter if their reckless behavior causes the death of another.
  • This involves ignoring safety laws and policies, or basic safety common sense.
  • That the defendant did not intend harm must be proven.
  • However, a manslaughter charge can also include “aggravated manslaughter.” Here, harm was intended, but not death.

Now, the most common form of manslaughter is vehicular manslaughter. As you might imagine, this happens when a person drives recklessly, gets into an accident, and that accident causes the death of another person.

Additionally, according to manslaughter laws in New Jersey, to commit aggravated slaughter, you have to demonstrate “extreme indifference to human life.” This means that you did something where the person’s death was not merely possible, but probable. So, for example, hitting someone repeatedly as opposed to just once.

Sentencing Manslaughter

Second, let’s now cover some consequences to manslaughter. Penalties can include:

  • Aggravated manslaughter – 10 to 30 years in prison
  • Manslaughter – 5 to 10 years in prison

As you might expect, the length of a sentence depends on the situation and details of the case. For example, if you’ve gotten DUIs in the past and then committed vehicular manslaughter, you’ll likely get a more severe punishment according to manslaughter laws in New Jersey. To illustrate again, if you accidentally kill a child, that will also come with a more severe sentence.

The Right Lawyer for Manslaughter Laws in New Jersey

Finally, if you face manslaughter charges, what can you do about them? Well, you can start by contacting the Law Offices of Mark Catanzaro! He has the experience and wisdom to come alongside you and defend your case. Don’t let one mistake ruin your life! Call him today.


Leave a Comment

Request Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Office Locations

Mount Holly:

21 Grant St.
Mt. Holly, New Jersey


143 White Horse Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey