Free Consultation! Call: (609) 261-3400 | Email: | Emergencies: Click Here

The Legal Consequences of Road Rage

Mercer County Traffic Lawyer

Many of us have experienced some sort of traffic-induced anger that has caused us to act unreasonable to a certain degree. Being cut off on the highway, getting stuck behind a slow moving vehicle for miles, barely avoiding a collision due to another driver’s negligence – these are all situations that may cause intense irritation for even the most mild mannered individuals. But be careful that your momentary burst of frustration doesn’t turn into unlawful road rage. Aggressive driving is against the law in New Jersey, and you will need a Mercer County traffic lawyer for road rage-related offenses.

Road Rage Ramifications

While we may jokingly refer to someone as having road rage while driving, New Jersey does not see road rage as a laughing matter. In fact, the state passed an aggressive driving law in 2012 after a 16-year old girl named Jessica became paralyzed due to another driver’s unreasonable aggression on the road.

According to the law, aggressive driving includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Unexpected altering of speed
  • Erratic and improper lane changes
  • Disregarding traffic control devices (stop signs, traffic lights, etc.)
  • Failing to yield the right of way
  • Following another vehicle too closely

You will be found guilty of aggressive driving if you operate a vehicle in an aggressive manner directed at another vehicle, resulting in bodily injury to another person. This is a fourth degree offense, which is punishable by up to 18 months in prison and a fine up to $10,000.

If the incident results in serious bodily injury, it is a third degree offense. The consequences for such an offense include three to five years in prison and a fine up to $15,000.

Similarly, a disorderly persons charge of assault by auto will be raised to a fourth degree offense if aggressive driving is involved. Instead of a maximum of 6 months of jail time and a $1,000 fine, the consequences increase to a maximum of 18 months of jail time and a $10,000 fine.

For all of the above offenses, you will definitely need the legal assistance of a highly skilled Mercer County traffic lawyer.

In Need of a Mercer County Traffic Lawyer?

If you’ve been charged with an aggressive driving offense, you need to obtain the advice of a Mercer County traffic lawyer immediately. These are serious offenses with very serious consequences. The role of a defense lawyer in any criminal matter is extremely important. If you are considering representing yourself, there are many reasons why it might be detrimental to your case and your future. Instead, schedule a free consultation with Mark Catanzaro, a highly experienced and successful Mercer County traffic lawyer. He will work hard to obtain favorable results for each client’s unique case. Contact him today.


Leave a Comment

Request Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Office Locations

Mount Holly:

21 Grant St.
Mt. Holly, New Jersey


143 White Horse Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey